Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute (HWI), an international leader in structural biology research, announced today its 2018-2019 board leadership.

Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute, Inc. (HWI) has announced the election of John G. Horn, Esq., partner with Harter Secrest & Emery LLP, as Chair of the Board. A business litigator with Harter Secrest & Emery LLP for nearly two decades, Horn has served as the Partner in Charge of the firm’s Buffalo office since January 2009. He has litigated complex business, construction, Indian law and environmental disputes in state, federal and tribal courts, as well as in mediation and arbitration. His experience also includes appeals in the New York State Appellate Division, the Second Circuit Court of Appeals and the New York Court of Appeals. Prior to his election as HWI Board Chair, Horn had served as Secretary to the HWI Board and on the board of the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra. He recently completed his term as Board Chair for the National Federation of Just Communities of Western New York.

“Through world-class research, HWI impacts generations to come, and those who support this organization truly grasp what science and curiosity mean for the future,” said Horn. “We have an unbelievable group of talented and dedicated individuals here, from the scientists and leadership to our board and volunteers. Everyone brings a tremendous amount of energy and commitment to advancing the life-changing mission of HWI.”

HWI CEO Edward Snell, PhD comments, “In the time John has been engaged with HWI, he has contributed to the growth of our organization as an active and enthusiastic director. His professional experience and past non-profit board leadership experience make him an ideal choice to lead our directors, with many new projects on our horizon. Our board is truly an extension of our team and we are thrilled to be working with John at its helm.”

Rounding out HWI’s slate of officers for 2018-19 are Charles E. Lannon, Vice-Chair of the Board; Anthony Pandolfi, Chair of the Finance Committee; Edward Snell, PhD, President & Chief Executive Officer; Emily Constantine Doren, Secretary; Anne Kent, Chief Financial Officer; and Jill Szczesek, Chief Operating Officer.